Blindness in-game (not a question)

No questions today (at least not yet)! I just wanted to share a mechanic I’ve been working on that’s finally doing what it’s supposed to. For whatever reason I got it in my head that I wanted to allow altered visibility- as in moments when the player is blind (I might include a puzzle where the player has to navigate a space with their eyes closed or something). So I wrote out code that allows the player to open and close their eyes, altering the description of the room each time.

It’s probably very sloppy, as I’m pretty new to this, and I’m sure someone else could do a cleaner job, but it works. I figured it could be a useful resource for anyone attempting to implement the same mechanic (blinding a player with a potion, blinding a player with a blindfold, etc), and since I received a lot of help from this forum myself, I thought I’d share what I have developed so far.

Sample code:

Testing room is a room. "A relatively barebones room. Not much aside from the painting on the wall and the table in the corner."

Body parts are a kind of thing. The eyes are body parts. The player carries eyes. Understand "my eyes" as eyes.

Instead of dropping body parts, say "Let's not start falling to pieces here..."

A person can be blind or sighted. A person is usually sighted. The player is blind.

Visibility rule when the player is blind:
there is insufficient light.

To print the location’s description:
	if the player is blind, say "Everything is dark. Open your eyes to see.[line break]";
	otherwise say “[description of the location of the player][line break]”.

Rule for listing nondescript items when the player is blind: 
	say "".

For printing a locale paragraph about a supporter:
	if the player is blind, say "";
 	otherwise continue the activity. 

Instead of opening eyes:
	say "You open your eyes wide.";
	now the player is sighted;
	try looking.

Instead of closing eyes:
	say "You close your eyes tightly.";
	now the player is blind;