Beta tester for choice-based historical fantasy (for IF Comp 2019)

Hi I’m a novelist and IF writer who somehow got it into her head that the due date for the if comp was the END of October. So, a bit of a mad rush at present.

Would anyone like to take pity on a poor caffeine-fuelled writer and help me beta test? I’ll have a complete and working third draft ready for testing in about 48 hours, and goodness knows I’ll need all the help I can get.

Here’s the beginning of the story, which will hopefully give a sense of whether it’ll be a fun read or not…

“Flight: an alchemical adventure”

You may call me evil, if you wish. Like the engineers of Babel; like Hypatia and Galileo; like the Montgolfier brothers.

I am brilliant, and I have no use for humility or the mewling complaints of priests. What is life for, if not to fly?

That’s not a metaphor.

Today is a shining October day; sunny, with a hint of a bite in the wind. I know this, because they’re letting me out today—the fools. Goodbye, stone walls. Goodbye, filth and rats and chains. One way or another, I won’t be going back into prison. I hope that if the Montgolfier contraption is doomed to explode, it will not do so while it is still on the ground. But even if today goes badly for both scientific progress in general and myself in particular, immolation is a far better fate than the stocks, or pressing, or a firing squad.
[[Perhaps I shouldn’t spend my life so lightly]]
[[Time to fly!]]

Leeloo

1 Like

Sure, I’d love to help beta test.

1 Like

wonderful!

I only just noticed the typo in the subject line.

I’ll send you the link to the story the second it’s ready.

So there with you…

You should be able to fix that as a regular member (once you’ve read about 10 minutes on this forum you’ll get promoted automatically if you’re not there yet)- use the pencil icon to the right of the subject line.

1 Like

Awesome, thank you.

oh nooooooooo!!!