Assigning NPC Pronouns

Twine Version: 2.3.14_win
Story Format: Sugarcube 2.34.1

I’m working on my first interactive fiction game and there are three characters I would like to be gender selectable. Right now this is the code I am using, I am wanting to use a dropdown or listbox for pronoun selection, similar to The Nameless by Parker Lyn. Any sort of help would be very much appreciated. Also a way to change the pronoun in the story, I’ve tried other methods but I don’t know if I’m implementing it wrong or not… like I said this is my first project

<<listbox “$variable”>>
<<option “He/Him” “He” $variable == "He" ? "selected" : "">>
<<option “She/Her” “She” $variable == "She" ? "selected" : "">>
<<option “They/Them” “They” $variable == "They" ? "selected" : "">>
<>

You might want to check out the “Pronoun Templates” section of my Twine/SugarCube sample code collection. That shows you how to use a <<SetGender>> macro and some specific templates to make your text display the gender that you currently have your pronouns set to use.

Hope that helps! :slight_smile:

I’ve already tried that I might be implementing it wrong tho…

You’ll have to be a bit more specific about what you’re trying and what isn’t working before we can help then.

apologies im not very good at writing from my brain to actual words basically im wondering what the format should be for it to work? and to implement it?
these is what ive tried so far:
<<listbox “$variable1”>>
<<option “He/Him” “He” $variable1 == "He" ? "selected" : "" >><>
<<option “She/Her” “She” $variable1 == "She" ? "selected" : "">><<SetPronouns “f”>>
<<option “They/Them” “They” $variable1 == "They" ? "selected" : "">><<SetPronouns “b”>>
<>

<<listbox “$variable1”>>
<<option “He/Him” “He” $variable1 == "He" ? "selected" : "" SetPronouns>>
<<option “She/Her” “She” $variable1 == "She" ? "selected" : "" SetPronouns “f”>>
<<option “They/Them” “They” $variable1 == "They" ? "selected" : "" SetPronouns “b”>>
<>