Asking player to specify conversation topic

Hi, I’m a total beginner, so hope this hasn’t been solved yet! I couldn’t find it in the older posts.

I’m trying to solve a dialogue problem, so that the player can say what she wants to “talk about” by just naming the topic.

I let my friend test my unfinished game (he had never played a parser game before so it was really cool to see his thought process). He tried to talk to an NPC (“talk to janitor”) which I programmed as a mistake (“What do you want to talk about?”) So he just typed “weather” (lol). I’ve been trying to figure out for days now to let him do that without typing “talk to janitor about weather”.

So it would look like this (sry for the clumsy formating):

TALK TO JANITOR

But what do I want to talk about?
WEATHER
(talks to janitor about weather)

I’m not using any extensions. Maybe I can reparse or use a which-do-you-mean prompt that compares the player input with the conversation topic table…?

4 Likes

Here is one way to do that:

The Lab is a room.  The scientist is a man in the lab.

Talk mode is a truth state that varies.

Understand "talk to [someone]" as talking to. Understand "talk to [something]" as talking to. Talking to is an action applying to one visible thing.

Carry out talking to:
	now talk mode is true.

Report talking to:
	say "What do you want to talk about?".

Topic-proposing is an action applying to one topic.
Understand "[text]" as topic-proposing when talk mode is true.

Table of Current Topics
topic	reply
"weather"	"He smiles. 'What a lovely day it is, not a cloud in sight!'"
"job/scientist"	"'I'm the resident mad scientist here, working on a doomsday device.'"

Check topic-proposing:
	if the topic understood is not a topic listed in the Table of Current Topics:
		say "You don't think it will be fruitful to bring up this topic." instead; 
	now talk mode is false.

Carry out topic-proposing a topic listed in the Table of Current Topics:
	say "[reply entry][line break]";