Port of Sand-dancer in Dialog

I’ve just created a first release of Sand-dancer for Dialog.

It’s is playable on the web and can also be downloaded separately.

Source code is on GitHub:

This is a re-implementation of Aaron Reed’s Sand-dancer game in Dialog, the subject of his excellent book Creating Interactive Fiction with Inform7.

This is a medium sized project, coming in at about 5K lines of code, compiling to 210K of bytecode. I’ve been working on it, very occasionally, for eight months (!).

I’m very interested in feedback about the game itself (bugs, improvements, and so forth) as well as the code I’ve written.

I’ve learned a lot even getting to this point; I hope others can learn something as well.

My next work will be somewhat more original!

7 Likes

Can you lob up the .aastory as well?

I haven’t built that yet. Let me see.

Ok, I’ve uploaded it but not tried it out yet.

(never mind, now I found it)

Interesting how a thing like inventory display can affect the way we interpret the information we’re given.

I can’t immediately put my finger on all the differences, but I can definitively say that these two things do not provoke the same reaction in me.

From the I7 Sand Dancer original:

>i
You've got:
  a lighter
  a denim jacket (being worn)
  emotional baggage (empty)
  a wallet (closed)
  a folded photo (closed)

In Dialog (aa/C64):

-2-2-2-2-

Dialog version doesn’t seem to like either the term “sand-dancer” or “sand dancer” even though it looks like you want it to?

Dialog (z8):

> get sand-dancer
(I only understood you as far as wanting to take something.)

> get lizard
You can’t reach the brown lizard.

> get sand dancer
(I only understood you as far as wanting to take something.)

I7 original: (different blocker message but it seems to understand it as the same target)

>get sand-dancer

The pickup truck isn't open.

>get lizard

>get sand dancer

Some of that is preference; I don’t like listings for inventory, I want prose.