am i going insane or just a moron?

I’m new to this and I’m having a problem. I type:

Kicking is an action applying to things. Understand "kick[something]" as kicking.

And it returns the error: you wrote ‘understand “kick [something]” as kicking’ but understand as should be followed by a meaning. I’ve also tried adding kicking, punching, and hitting as behaviours and that also screws up. How is this any different from the examples? Aaaaaargh

Try “one thing” instead of “things.” Edit: Huh, no, tried “things” in my code and it compiled. Is there a space between “kick” and “[something]”? Edit: Ha ha, no, tried that and it compiled too. I had no idea Inform was this forgiving about things. One sec.

Okay. Yeah. I just pasted your code into a fresh new source with one room and one rock (for kicking) and it compiled fine. So the good news is, you are going insane.

I have already tried both of those things and it still fails.

Two things to try at this point:

1. Copy-paste your code and the error message here exactly as they are. In the first post the code says “kick[something]” (without space) and the error message says “kick [something]” (with space) which means that you re-typed both or either one of them here, possibly fixing a typo you originally had. Or…

2. When you get the error message, click on the orange arrow button next to it. It’ll show the spot in the source code that throws the error. It’s possible that the error is somewhere else in the code where you maybe duplicated the code by mistake.

Could one possible solution be that “kicking” is already declared somewhere else? In an extension? In the code itself?

I am having a similar problem. I am trying to make an action that allows the player to throw something a direction, but no matter how I word it, the compiler throws the same error:

Here is what I currently have