Adding End-of-Game Bonus Content

Twine Version: Harlowe 3.3.5
Hi, I’m new to Twine. My previous experience is with choicescript, and I’ve only been using Harlowe for about two weeks now.

Is it possible to add end-of-game bonus content? My vision was that when a player finishes the game I’m working on, a variable for the LI they romanced, MC they played, and the ending they got is triggered and a corresponding short story/LI POV becomes available from the sidebar. I believe I could code it like this (with example variables):

(if: quinn_lover is true)+(if: goodending is true)[
(set: quinn_firstmeeting to true)]

Then in the Bonus Content passage:

(if: quinn_firstmeeting is true)[
Short story about first meeting with Quinn from Quinn's POV would go hear.]

I would also like for this to remain between sessions and not reset between playthroughs so that the player could “collect” the stories and refer back to them at any time. And if it’s not possible in a browser playthrough, would it at least be possible in a downloaded file?

1 Like

The first thing you want to do is possible and indeed pretty easy, although your code is a little off; you’re missing the $ symbols in front of your permanent variable names, and I don’t think you can use + with the if macro like that, so it would be:

(if: $quinn_lover is true and $goodending is true)[
(set: $quinn_firstmeeting to true)]

However, Harlowe doesn’t have the ability to create variables that will persist across replays. You’d have to avoid running the engine restart at all and instead make a sort of “fake restart” by linking back to the first passage and manually resetting all the other variables (the ones you don’t want to persist) to their start-of-game state.

Sugarcube does have this functionality built in, and the last time someone asked this question here I believe they ended up switching to Sugarcube.

2 Likes