Action that only applies in one room

total beginner here. This is my first bit of Inform 7 and i’m struggling a bit with documentation.
What i’m trying to do might be a bit non-standard (but it is what i really want to do)…

i want each of many rooms to have a ‘privileged’ action, eg.
‘scream’ in dungeon say…
‘burp’ in dining room say…
‘yawn’ in bedroom say…

the condition is always the room, no objects are involved, it’s not particularly important what happens if you ‘yawn’ in the garden

This is where i got to - as you can see, not very far.

bedroom is a room.
dungeon is a room.

Yawning is an action applying to nothing. Understand “yawn” as yawning.
Carry out yawning:
say… .

i really appreciate any help at all.
Steven

I’m a newbie too, and no doubt there’s a much better way of doing it, but I’d try something like this:

the dungeon is a room.

screaming is an action applying to nothing. Understand “scream” as screaming. [You probably want to add in a few synonyms too].

Carry out screaming:
say “[insert generic response for other rooms here]”

Before screaming:
if the player is in the dungeon:
say “You scream in the dungeon. Then this amazing thing happens …”;
[code in whatever you want to happen when the player screams in the dungeon];
stop the action.

This means you’ll get a standard default response if you try screaming in the other rooms, but if you try screaming in the dungeon something unique will happen.

I don’t know if that’s exactly what you want - just some thoughts. I’m pretty sure that would work.

Will.

Thanks, anything that gets me started is useful

[code]The bedroom is a room.
The dungeon is a room. The dungeon is south of the bedroom.

Yawning is an action applying to nothing. Understand “yawn” as yawning.
Carry out yawning:
say “Yawn…”

Instead of yawning in the dungeon:
say “Yawn…[paragraph break]The sound awakens five hundred zombies!”;
end the story saying “You are eaten by five hundred cranky zombies”.[/code]