Absolute Beginner Questions

I downloaded I7 about a year ago with only a slight interest in creating adventure games/interactive fiction/etc. and because the interest was only slight, I hadn’t really TRIED to learn it until now. However, lately I7 has been fascinating me and I’m really keen on creating an adventure game set in the world of Batman (go figure, eh?). However, even after reading the documentation/recipe book and what have you, I feel like I’m just not grasping what I assume are probably stupidly simple commands. So if you guys could please help a beginner in the way of this fantastic program, it would be much appreciated. I will try to be as detailed as possible about my issues, so please bear with the lengthy post :slight_smile:

1. I’m having difficulty understanding the basic concept of walking into a building and being inside of a room. Should all/most places be described as rooms and then further rooms should be placed INSIDE of another to create the effect of a building? Or does one define something as a “building” and then create rooms inside of it? To apply it to my game, basically, you begin in the center of a city (outside) and can choose 1 of 4 cardinal directions. I would like the player to be able to go N (for example) and approach a building and then after that, decide whether or not they want to enter said building. If they decide to enter, then they obviously would be in a room contained in the larger building (which has been defined already obviously). What I7 doesn’t seem to like is that I’m trying to say that the “lobby” (the room upon walking in) is inside of the larger building and therefore it thinks that I’m trying to describe the larger building twice. Is there some simple thing I’m missing here? Just to say “enter the building and now you’re in x room”?