a question about motivation

Okay, I’m new to this so don’t make fun of me. :stuck_out_tongue:

What do you do after you spent hours working on a story one day and then the weekend comes along or something fun like that and when you try to start again on your story you just don’t feel like working on it anymore? I don’t mean I ran out of ideas, or writers block, but I mean I just look at what I did and I’m all like, hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm… lots of black on white blurring to grey…and then the TV starts to get interesting even though its only the History channel :astonished: or I’m like texting my friends to come get me and lets go do something. :sunglasses:

I thought this would be so easy, but sometimes I feel like I’m at school and my Dad gets all excited and gives me Inform 7 homework… Geeez! :open_mouth:

I was so into it last week and I didn’t do anything this weekend and my story seems boring now and I haven’t really started writing it yet. Prolly why I’m writing this huh. Maybe I’ll delete it now… Hmmmmmmm… Nah. :wink:

Seriously though. What do you do for motivation? Please tell me somethign helpful!!! Thanks.

Well, it’s better to work out that your story’s boring early on, rather than after you’ve put a ton of work into it. The first things that people write in IF do tend to come out pretty boring: we call those My Apartment games, because often the first thing people implement is their boring apartment or dorm-room. Lots of people have done this, so you shouldn’t worry too much about it; you can always start again on a project that interests you more.