A bug? Or am I confused?

I’ve either found a bug, or am completely confused. This is my first attempt at authoring IF, so I wouldn’t be surprised if it was the later.

Here’s the relevant part of my code:

[code]“Underage” by “Marcus Pascall”

The Air Conditioned Store is a room.

In the Air Conditioned Store is a man called clerk. Alcohol is carried by the clerk.

Understand “beer/vodka/tequila/rum/wine cooler/wine/booze” as alcohol.

Instead of asking the clerk about “alcohol”, say “The clerk looks you up and down and says ‘You are not old enough for me to sell you alcohol.’”

Before buying [something]:
try asking the clerk about “[noun]”;
stop the action.[/code]

For some reason, if the player types “buy wine cooler”, it works (the relevant text is displayed). But if he types “buy beer” (or vodka, tequila, etc), it says “You can’t see any such thing here.”

My question is, why does wine cooler work, and yet not the rest?

Thanks,
-M

edit: I’m using Inform (1.2 6.31/6G60) on a 64-bit Ubuntu system.

This will work, as far as it goes:

[code]“Underage” by “Marcus Pascall”

The Air Conditioned Store is a room.

In the Air Conditioned Store is a man called the clerk. Alcohol is carried by the clerk.

Understand “beer/vodka/tequila/rum/wine/booze” or “wine cooler” as alcohol.

Instead of asking the clerk about “[alcohol]”, say “The clerk looks you up and down and says ‘You are not old enough for me to sell you alcohol.’”

stop the action.[/code]

The two important changes I made are: separating the two-word phrase into its own quotes (for “wine cooler”) because two-word thingies don’t play well with the slashy-list thing, and putting brackets around the token “[alcohol]” to allow the asking-about to work.

I also added “the” to “clerk,” so the room description makes more sense (It now says “You can see the clerk here” instead of “You can see clerk here”).

Looks like “wine cooler” has a space. You need to separate that from the others.