Introductions

EDIT: Somehow I managed to screw up (well, it’s not surprising): this should have gone in the ‘Introducing Ourselves’ sticky.

'Allo, folks.

My name is Jonathan Dobson. I’m in school for mechanical engineering. Became a dad 4 months ago. Live in Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. Been dabbling with programming since the TRS-80, and have been pleasantly distracted by the subject my whole life.

Unlike 99% of folks into IF (warning: assumption [yes, I do that]), I have played .1% of what’s out there. As far as the classics go, I managed Zork when I was nine years old. After which I didn’t play another IF game for 20 years (1987 to 2007).

I have been attempting for the past two years (on and off) to create an IF/RPG model with a lesser-known IF interpreter called Quest. Quest is going to be revamped drastically over the next while, so I’ve decided to make a move towards TADS in the interim.

The only game I’ve created is a small, one-room effort via Quest called Brew Dog, and I was on this forum asking for beta-testers as ‘jdobson’. Unfortunately, I am no longer using the email address attached to ‘jdobson’, so I’ve created a new account. Brew Dog has never been released, although I think I’ll wrap it up by February.

Presently I am swimming in the TADS 3 documentation (without a life jacket), and have yet to see the shoreline. (For those of you who have already constructed beach-houses along the cliffs, I suppose you will be spotting my emergency beacon flashing off in the distance soon enough.)

I’ve joined the TADS 3 Study Group, and am hoping to make good use of the discussions there.

If anyone has any experience drafting a turn-based, role-playing-esque game with TADS, I would certainly be interested in what you’ve developed so far. (Part of me doesn’t expect anyone to have done this, but, who knows!)

I’m also a fledgling writer, and pianist (non-classical). Does TADS support music files?